An appropriate title

A few days ago, when visiting Reliant Robin's journal I saw that Booky Goatherd has proposed a new project called Reader's World. I don't read as much as I would really like to, for all sorts of reasons. However, I live with a most voracious reader, who indulges her passion with a mixture of paper books and e-books. The project appealed.

This morning was one of those where the dark discouraged me from a run, in part because there would be inadequate light for a photograph. And I knew that the last appointment today was relatively early in the afternoon. What I didn't know, was that the person we offered an appointment for a new assessment and had not had confirmation from, was going to come. And there were two others who had been given last minute appointments during that time. Lunch break was gone. Tidying up the notes etc took a long time; so it was almost dark again by the time I got home.

What better way to satisfy the blip drive than a post to go with this new project. I will use the format Reliant Robin used:

Reader: S
Book: Great North Road by Peter F Hamilton
Venue: The daybed in our apartment on Great North Road
Later refreshments: Cake and wine at her book club

The first Tuesday of every month is when her book club meets. She has just gained access to and then read this book (which I had bought and began reading when we went to Sydney a month ago for the College conference and visiting tsuken). It is long enough to be four reasonable sized books, and that takes her little enough time to read!

She asked me to recommend to readers who look at this, the book she was going to present to the other members of the group this evening. It is called "The Garden of Evening Mists" by Tan Twan Eng. She had read it on the Kindle Ap on her iPad.

I'm posting this much later than usual, as I have had the pleasure of the company of daughter J, who helped me reach the end of a bottle of Syrah; it would not have done well if the small amount left had stayed in the bottle. Pleasant conversation while we await the return of S from her book club

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.