Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Cherry Blossom Day 2

I was off out with Carol by 9am to beat the crowds for the Alnwick Gardens. The blossom won’t last much longer - the wind is seeing to that. Carol had not seen it before so enjoyed it, and being a keen gardener, she also loved the walled garden.

I carried on with knitting the Shetland coat because - you’ll never guess - it is windy, grey and wet again. (See Carol in a big coat).

Tonight is the supper club pooled supper at Linda and Colin’s. I hope the “illnesses” conversations don’t start up. Everyone has some issue as we are aged 52-80. (I was allowed to take off the nose dressing so with luck the healing wound won’t be too obvious). I was instructed to take pudding for 12. I made summer pudding as I have lots of soft fruit in the freezer. It will be nice to see everyone. We used to be a walking group that met for supper after the walk. But now few want to walk.

Friend Jo is having a great time in Afghanistan. Herat was a surprise as the women wore colours and were chatty. Kandahar, the Taliban stronghold , was a different story. She was followed by about 100 young men, all very cheerful, but she needed a Taliban soldier or two to help because it was such a crowd. A beautiful blond woman, even in a burka and scarf, was a great cause of excitement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.