WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

New neighbour

The kestrels were zooming around all morning; I could hear them but not see them. And then at lunchtime, when Ingrid and I were briefly enjoying the sunshine (yes, it was 27C this afternoon) I spotted one of them through the leaves. Happily, I had come armed with the long lens, and amazingly, I got an in-focus shot of it at the top of the clocktower, through the leaves of the triffid. I only had one shot: it turned its back on me and flew away after this.

In the evening, thanks to an initiative of Ingrid, we re-instituted apéro sur la place. It was a lovely evening; we sat on the stone bench heated by the sun and invited a few passers by to join us. Very pleasant! Pinch yourself -- it could be summer. We sat outside till 9:30. And neighbour G, who has  a better view of the clocktower than I do, told me there are actually two pairs of kestrels. Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.