Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Speckled

There was enough sunshine to lure out a few butterflies, despite the cool wind. There were a couple of Speckled Wood in the park, and a couple of Small Tortoiseshell feasting on dandelions on the adjacent Monument Moor.

Later, I helped out a rather large Hedgehog which had managed to get itself stuck under the gate to the community garden (extra). I did leave it alone for quarter of an hour to check it couldn’t free itself, but when I returned I was able to gently slide it backwards to freedom. I hope it managed to find somewhere safe to go and didn’t just get itself stuck again.

In between I headed over to Silsden for another displaced football game with Barnoldswick Town (Barlick to their friends) hosting Burscough in an NWCFL Premier League fixture. It was another case of needing to cram fixtures in so that the league season can be concluded on Saturday, and Barlick’s own pitch not being up to such a quick turnaround in matches. The match ended up being a little one sided: a comfortable 4-0 win for Barlick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.