fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Love and hate with Apple

Three or four years ago, I bought a new iMac. The base model had about a quarter as much RAM as I actually wanted but to upgrade it was going to cost six or seven hundred pounds. Which might have been acceptable if the cost of the actual RAM wasn't only around a hundred and fifty quid.

So, after consulting my brother and Paul At Work, I bought the RAM separately and set about upgrading the iMac. 

Guys, it took about two minutes. Pop the panel off the back, slot in the RAM, replace the panel, and boot up the machine. Actually as simple as that, which only served to fuel the negative side of my love-hate relationship with Apple. 

Recently, Abi's headphones, also an Apple product, stopped taking charge. A quick Google showed this to be an outrageously common problem - they weren't cheap - but also one that it is relatively easy to fix by replacing the battery, so I ordered a new one off eBay.

This evening, I sat down to replace the battery, following a video on YouTube. And it was a bit fiddly, but I got almost all of the way there, until I reached a point where it became clear that Apple have made a tiny (and unnecessary) change to the battery compartment making it impossible to change the battery yourself. Cynical bastards.

Chalk up another notch on the negative side of the relationship!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.