Extra Ordinary

By PhilippaJ

Santo Spirito

Have you ever read Still Life by Sarah Winman? It’s one of my favourite books, a big chunk of it is in Florence set in a big square, Santo Spirito which is just a short walk from our home. We spent a wonderful few hours there early evening in the sun with some nice rose bustling with people enjoying their Friday evening. We met Margaret from Berlin who had finished work for the day and was meeting a friend who was late. She was v nice and says I can stay with her when I go to Berlin so that’s all good.

Before that we had a fabulous walk and explore all round Florence. Well it was fabulous after I had got my temperature sorted, achieved by buying a wooly hat and gloves. We went to the big market and I spent time planning how I will buy my food when I live in Italy. I tried my Italian out all over, asking the lucky recipient of my pigeon words to confirm words I couldn’t remember. Everyone was very delighted with me. Well, they laughed a lot any way.

Lunch we ended up in a restaurant filled with workers on their lunch break. Huge, lovely lunch and wine for hardly any money. And we sat outside while they dug up the street around us, made us laugh.

Huge day of walking, wine, food- top it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.