This is the day

By wrencottage

A helping hand

In a week’s time we are setting off by train for the Lake District, where we will spend three weeks at our timeshare property at Langdale. This is quite something for us because, after Smithers had all his eye problems last summer and now that he is no longer able to drive, I really thought that we had had our last holiday up there.

I didn’t allow for the fact that our eldest son and his fiancée would get engaged at Langdale on New Year’s Eve and decide that they wanted to be married there too! (His fiancée spent all her childhood holidays in Langdale, as did our sons, so it has a special place in both their hearts.) 

The wedding was planned and booked, all within their holiday week, and 4th May was especially chosen because it was at the end of the first week of our three timeshare weeks and they were determined that we should be there.

So the Traveller will drive our car up for us while Smithers and I take the train, and then he will stay with us until after the wedding, and then drive our car home, returning once more at the end of our stay to drive it back home. I am very excited at the prospect of visiting our favourite place again, especially as it will be for such a happy occasion, although this probably will be our last visit, given our change of circumstances. 

My blip says it all, really. Smithers has been doing sterling work today helping me up when I’m exhausted. I’ve done quite a few wedding/holiday-related jobs this morning, and we’ve had the kitchen-less family here for the afternoon, when I confess Smithers did most of the work. Now all I need is another good night’s sleep and hopefully I’ll be feeling more perky tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.