That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Blinded

I think the chap that installed these blinds in the sunroom thought I was mad to have them drawn from the bottom up when, I imagine, it is normal to draw them from the top down.That's fine when the sun is at full height but this arrangement means I can shade my chair no matter the time of day. They worked well this morning.

Further development on the birds nesting, their activity has been most entertaining. I'd put out some cat fur (from Hazel and Bramble, faithfully kept in a box for the purpose) and some strands of sheeps' wool, which has a much longer staple, filling an old peanut feeder to hang near the nestbox and also hung some on the rose bush on the opposite side of the garden. The feeder supply has been ignored but quite soon a blue tit came to the rose, teased out a large tuft of fur, flew to the nestbox and returned for more. Then a pair of magpies fought a pair of jackdaws for the right to grab the rest - always the fur, none wanted the wool, which now floats in the breeze like an abandoned spider web.  With that all gone I draped more fur on the beech tree but the wind may have taken it.

 I have also put out dried calci worms to help the hens produce strong shells, but I fear the jackdaws will reap the benefit, being first at the table and cleaning their plates before other diners arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.