Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Making Tortillas

I'm pleased that so many of you liked the flag irises at Spring Lake. I think having the knee replacement when I did was probably a good idea. I didn't feel particularly unhappy about not being able to get about much when it was raining and cold outside, but now that the weather is warming up and things are blossoming everywhere, it is a pleasure to be able to be out and about again. My ultimate goal is to go on the walk to Spike's meadow. It's not that many steps and I don't think I would have any problem on the uphill side but what goes up must come down and I'm not quite ready for that. 

For the first time in many weeks, it was perfect weather for the Farmers' Market. For some reason it is more likely to do me in than a long walk around Spring Lake...probably all the stopping and starting and standing. There are some tables and chairs near the food trucks and I insisted on sitting for awhile to eat my almond croissant and drink coffee. The one nearest where we were sitting makes burritos and tacos to order and I watched this woman expertly making tortillas...taking just the right amount of dough out of the red bucket, rolling it into a ball, pressing it in the green tortilla press and flipping it onto the grill. She turned and moved them around on the the grill with her bare hands and achieved a perfect 'puff 'with each one, something I have yet to reliably been able to
achieve. I waited awhile for her to press another one so I could capture not only the pressing action but her profile. Apparently they didn't get another taco order. If I weren't already eating a croissant, I would have ordered a taco myself!  Maybe next week....

It still seems to be a shoulder season judging by what was available today...lots of winter greens and squash but no flowers today...Dana got the last bunch. It is certainly true in our own garden. John is just starting to plant green beans, cucumbers and squash. Tomatoes will be next. Harvest for the Hungry is having their big plant sale next weekend, and Tobi has grown 3,000 tomato plants. She kindly agreed to set aside six plants for us. People coming early to the plant sale are such a formidable lot that reservations are required for the morning hours. It pays to know somebody!

I'm not sure where this day has gone...but the sun id definitely over the yardarm....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.