An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Golden slumbers...

Jeez, it's been a whirlwind here today!

GP phoned this morning to discuss sedation for Alan's CT scan on Thursday.  She is planned to phone the CT department as she's not convinced anything will be in place regarding moving Alan onto he scanning table (a hoist will be required) She wanted to discuss the whole scenario.  She called back a little later to say a hoist will be there and someone (probably David) will stay with Alan to keep him safe on the table.  She will prescribe the strongest dose of diazepam to make Alan very sleepy in the hope he will lie still enough for long enough and allow the scan to take place.  If this doesn't work it will have to be done at Ninewells under anaesthetic and a bed in a ward will be required.  We are keen to avoid that scenario and hoping things will work out on Thursday!

Next we had a visit from a guy from the wheelchair clinic at Ninewells.  He collected the footplates from Alan's power chair as both have issues that need to be fixed.  Hoping they will be returned tomorrow as he's not able to use his wheelchair without them.

Alan was supposed to have hydrotherapy this afternoon but when D was in the pool changing room he noticed the control unit (like a tv remote) for the ceiling hoist was not in the re-charging unit.  The engineer from the company that services the hoist had been out the day we went on holiday to fit a new controller but hadn't put it back on to re-charge.  When D tried to put it in the charger, it wouldn't fit!  He called the company to advise.

To our surprise the manager appeared just over an hour later.  He was very annoyed and embarrassed.  Turns out the handsets have been updated by the supplier (this company just fit the equipment) but the re-charge units haven't!  He has promised to be back with a new one ASAP.  Sadly there wan't enough charge left in the hoist to get Alan in and out of the pool so his swim had to be cancelled.

We paused for lunch then D headed to the garden to look out the garden furniture.  It is so lovely to see the comfy chairs and tables out.  Brings hope for better weather (it was sunny today :-))

I had booked a call with my GP to discuss the recent letter I received from Urology saying my kidney stone has gone.  This contradicted information one of the GPs had given me last month.  Turns out they'd been looking at my original scan in December that identified the stone, which is what I suspected had happened.

The letter I received from the Urology Consultant basically says "I am pleased to inform you that you don't have any stones in your urinary system" and that was the extent of the information.  The GP was able to tell me that the information they received also reveals that my bladder and kidneys are fine with nothing worrying to note.  I have no idea why patients aren't given all the information.  I would have welcomed that information in my letter.  But still, at least the stone has gone.  I'm very relieved.  

Lola was enjoying snoozing in the sunshine this afternoon.  Couldn't resist taking a snap of her :-)  I've got the dentist tomorrow for a check up of my crumbling upper molar.  Hope it can be saved! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.