Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Henrietta's Daily Visit

The little birds at the feeders just above her head were unphased by her visit. I thought she might be eating the flowers that John just planted but I don't think gazanias are part of her diet. No sign of Tom lately he may have done his thing and I'm wondering if she has a nest somewhere that she needs to get back to.

John didn't want to go to Kathy's today so I went by myself. There was a large balloon coming down near the airport, and the sun shining through the small clusters new bright green leaves on the old gnarly head pruned vines both offered wonderful photo opportunities but there really was no way to pull over for a shot. 

The balloon tours are something that has never really attracted me, but a lot of people must like them because we see them in the sky a lot at this time of year. They look so quiet floating overhead, but they are actually  quite noisy because of  the burner which sends hot air into the balloon. The leaves on the vines will grow quickly now and turn a darker green.

I called the new vet for the results of Spike's heartworm test and the receptionist told me that the heartworm test was negative but that he tested positive for tick borne anaplasmosis and the vet would be calling to discuss that. From what I could learn from Dr. Google, anaplasmosis is similar to Lyme's Disease and is treated with doxycycline but that they don't necessarily do that if the dog is asymptomatic. Spike is entirely asymptomatic and the receptionist said the next step was usually a full blood panel, but that would be the vet's call...except he hasn't. Grrrr.

The day has otherwise passed fairly aimlessly... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.