eyesee

By davidc

Tiny Tuesday: The Eye of Horus

It's been a busy 24 hours. Yesterday evening I drove to Doncaster (normally a two and a half hour drive -  but it took over three hours yesterday because of road works and consequent diversions). I stayed the night there to be ready to attend an eye surgeons' update meeting. (I've been retired for 10 years (wow!) but still help out with a charity which runs courses for eye clinic technicians so I need to keep up to date.) It was a really interesting meeting and gave me the chance during lunch/coffee breaks to catch up with some old colleagues which was nice. Then tonight I drove home (I managed to avoid significant road works this time!).

The meeting was organised by the North of England Ophthalmological Society (NEOS), of which I had the honour of being president for a year on two previous occasions (see here). My "Emergency Blip" for JDO's Tiny Tuesday challenge is the society's logo: obviously there are various versions of it but this is on my Society tie, the logo measuring about 3x5 cm. In the centre is the Eye of the Egyptian god Horus, representing well-being, healing, and protection. The roses each side of it are, of course, the roses of York and Lancashire as our area covers the whole north of the country. Down the centre is the serpent-entwined rod wielded by the Greek god Aesculapius, a deity associated with healing and medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.