Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHO DOESN'T LOVE A BARGAIN?

I think when Mr. HCB he's going to cricket towards the end of the week, he often feels guilty – although I don't know why he should because I never mind him going. However, he said to me yesterday that it would be good if we tried to sort out some new plants for the garden, given that he had managed to finish hoeing, our large border, so we had a chat about what we would like.

Today we went to Hillier’s Garden Centre at Lechlade and wandered around looking at different plants before going in for a coffee and a chat. We then had another wander around and found the “Half price table” and believe me, these little beauties were too good to miss!

Well that was it – there were so many to choose from and we picked out so many plants that Mr. HCB had to go and find another trolley so that we could put them all in!  As he said afterwards, “We should have gone to the Half price table first!"  We will next time!

I decided that it would be best to do collage, showing us from start to finish mainly for our own delectation.  In the top left you can see Mr. HCB looking rather worriedly into the boot, and I'm sure he thought we would never get all the plants in but fortunately, a very kind man offered us some boxes, so it wasn’t too much of a problem.   On the way home we were chatting about how much we must've saved and when I looked on the receipt, although we paid a lot of money, I told him that we had saved over £182!  Now that’s what we call a bargain, and who doesn’t love a bargain?

Coming down in the collage you will see Mr. HCB bringing the plants through to the patio and he did smile then - I think when he realised that he was going to be part of my Blip for today, he just gave in gracefully.  

Then I had the job of placing them on the garden where I thought they would look best, with a little help and advice from Mr. HCB.  He had already decided that all the primroses, polyanthus, and cowslips would be going underneath the fruit trees in the new raised beds so once I had dug those out, I started to place the new plants on the garden.  Mr. HCB said that when I am at the Community Fridge tomorrow, he will plant out all our new plants, which is great, because I find it difficult to get down there and more importantly, to get back up again.  I have also put in a selfie as an extra - where Mr. HCB is smiling broadly and I’m looking a bit worried!  

I hate to say it, but I do hope that tomorrow afternoon it rains and then is fine for the next couple of days for Mr. HCB’s visit to his next cricket match.  

Better dash, Mr. HCB wanted a cup of tea at 3 o’clock and it’s now 3.12 - I will be getting my P45 if I don’t watch my step!  

P.S.  I almost forgot - we also bought two dahlia tubers that were half price - bargains galore and I gave away several hearts - one of the ladies who worked at Hillier's said, when she looked at the heart, that had "Love" written on it, she needed it because she had lost her younger sister last year and she was her best friend!  These little hearts, although nothing of themselves, seem to be blessing people and I am so pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.