Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

"Momma, what happened?"

Louisa May (can you see her in the door window?) and I were both in shock when we got up this morning and saw the carnage at the Back Porch Cafe.  A Black Bear obvious got up on the feeding table to get the bird feeder and broke the railing.  It must have made an awful noise, but I slept through it remarkably.  A male Black Bear can weigh up to 600 pounds but this early in the spring after hibernating all winter, he is likely to be closer to 450 pounds.  Strangely, the seed can was open on the ground but the seeds were still inside.  The fall must have scared him off.  John's got a mess to clean up tomorrow.  On Monday a passing logging truck snagged my phone line over the road and tore it off my house.  It feels like I am under siege.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.