Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Not BA Flying tonight

Well someone was flying tonight but it certainly wasn't our party.

I am calling it a party because sitting and standing round in the airport on Thursday we gelled and made a WhatsApp, 'Stranded in J'burg' group chat. That kept us all going we were all one and no-one was on their own. The best people to be stranded with I would say as we had to all laugh through this crisis. 

My predicament was different. I hadn't travelled under a 1 booking reference with Simon and we had paid for Premium Economy seats. Combine those two things and it all went wrong for BA.
Everyone had a ticket out on Monday but I didn't strangely but then I did and on getting to the airport I didn't. I had a  'standby ticket which I/we were not aware of but at check in BA said the flights were full. BUT I had to sit until the last fight out had boarded before I could go. However Hubs flight at a Gate further down,  hadn't boarded and the Captain said they had radar problems. I trotted to be with my newly found buddies and was wondering what the dickens to do next on my own. 

Then came another turn of events. The captain announced that there was a radar problem. We all waited. Then he said and I'm condensing this, that he had to test the plane with passengers on board but he would understand if people weren't comfortable with this and wanted to walk. All I needed was 1 person to walk off an airbus. In the bathroom I overheard a lady in a leopard skin dress saying she really didn't want to risk it looking at me. With a very blank look on my face I said that I thought she was wise with that and in the end again another very long story cut short she sat with me, everyone had boarded and I had her ticket. the only person to dip out of the full flight.

Getting on board we did many many flight checks nearly got totally out of the parking bay and he announced he wasn't happy with the systems. We would all have to disembark, and be bused to an hotel.  I just knew it .... We crashed at 3;00 in the morning as it took ages as you can imagine for all the airbus passengers to be sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.