WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Salsify with wasp's nest

I took quite a few photos today and deleted nearly all of them. We started the day with pruning the wisteria. S had bought a longer ladder on le Bon Coin yesterday, only 30 euros and it folds into four, so fits easily into the back of the Peugeot. My job was to stand on the bottom of it while he hacked away. Having already showered this morning, I had to wash my hair again afterwards as dust, twigs, leaves, and insects rained down on me. 

Then we went to try lunch at a wine bar in Narbonne that only opened recently and already has a Michelin Bib Gourmand. It's attached to a long-standing 2-star restaurant, but is much cheaper. The lunch menu, two choices for each course, is 35 euros, quite cheap for somewhere like this. It was full of the chattering classes of Narbonne, chattering.

By ordering different things for each course, we tried everything. Verdict: a mixed bag. My chilled pea soup with goat's cheese mousse was good, and so was S's light pork-based starter. The best part of the meal was my pig's cheek with very French pureed potatoes, and the kind of gravy you only get in starred restaurants. S's fish with carrot and ginger puree was bland and rather boring, and the desserts were ... OK. S underwhelmed by his soggy brioche perdue. It ended up costing as much as Le Bastion in Lagrasse, but certainly hasn't challenged it for our top spot. Especially after we had to order coffee twice after it failed to appear the first time.

Home again, and to avoid slouching on the sofa I went for a quick blip hunt. This was the only photo I felt was worth keeping. Sharper in large as usual!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.