Living my dream

By Mima

Self-seeded

The cosmos which I sowed in the dahlia bed last year self-seeded nicely. Most grew nicely in the bed, but a few stragglers have taken root in the drive, where they stand out much more than amongst the dahlias. 

They are still hanging on nicely. I love their cheerful 'faces'.

It's been a surprisingly balmy day. A southerly change arrived overnight as forecast, but it has been a much sunnier day than I anticipated. And as long as I'm out of the wind it's actually quite warm. I am in thick winter clothes however... 

The morning was spent at G's potting on a heap of cuttings and seedlings that we have been tending for the last few weeks. Then we pulled out all the strawberry plants from this year's location in preparation for using them as ground cover in her new wizzbang soft fruit garden.

Back Chez Mima the kitchen has been a frenzy of activity: I've created several meals from various combinations of apples, venison mince, squashes, carrots, onions, tomatoes, capsicums and lentils.

Now it's time for a cup of tea and a sit down in the sun...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.