ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Duffelt', Kekerdom

'Kekerdom' = 'Kay (as in 'okay')-kur-dom'

The Duffelt is the region between Nijmegen ('Naai-mey-gun') in The Neth and 'Cleves' (as in Anne of Cleves, H8's fourth wife) in Germany.  Built in 1868, the windmill had a name given by a parish priest, but apparently nobody grew fond of it so it was practically forgotten.  After its restauration in 1977, it was named 'De Duffelt' in honour of aforementioned region.  I wanted a wider angle but there are buildings quite close to it, and, had I stood a little further behind, they would have blocked the view dreadfully.  The mill is, in effect, standing in an enclosed backyard with no access besides the parking area near the front.  The buildings and the trees prevent maximum benefit from the wind.  Oh well...

In short, my little hunting trip today took me very close to the German border, which, despite my GPS, I did not expect.  I saw some natural formations in the landscape that are totally non-existent in the west -- hills.  It almost felt as though I was in a another country, which made me smile as my mind then drifted to my day trips beyond that border.  They should commence again.

As you can see, it wasn't very sunny.  I went anyway because the sun was out everywhere.  It's just that the clouds decided to accompany me on the way there.  They did not, however, tag along with me on the way back, so that it was sunny again when I got back.  AW was already outside the back gate with his bicycle, intending to go by bike to Sweed's and Benna's.  When he saw me, the bike went back inside and he took the car.  I had a quiet evening organizing some digital stuff, plus kitchen duties.  Lasagna and tea for dinner... simply marvelous.

A short text exchange with the Viking.  It looks like the municipal government I now have to deal with is, and I quote, 'very cooperative'.  Sounds promising.  There'll be what's called a 'status hearing' next week.  The Viking wants all our plans discussed and finalized in Court, so that nobody attempts to make shady deals.

Thankful for ducks in a row.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.