Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reform

(27/4/24)

I was woken at 6:45 by Geraldine saying the car wouldn't start. ARGH! So I organised a taxi to take her to work and then remembered we needed the car to trek out to the other side of town in the evening, so I better get it sorted.

It didn't take long to realise the problem was a flat battery. It was 7:15 by this time, so I walked over to both the auto-repair shops nearby. Neither was open, so I made a video of the fault and sent it to the garage. Khalid confirmed it was the battery. I came back to the flat to eat my breakfast and then went down again closer to 9. The Irani guy wanted to charge me £10 for a jump start. I said, "I'm not paying that for something I can get for free from a friend." Thankfully, Dennis showed up at just the right time.

I drove to Lazer and got a new battery installed. I then drove the car around the block to make sure everything was OK. By the time I got home, Khalid from the garage confirmed they would replace the battery for me as the one that failed was under warranty. Too late. That's something to pursue next week.

As the car was usable again, I collected G from school, finished the work day, and then set out to the Reform Social & Grill for dinner with Jessica. She's leaving soon, so it will be our last meal with her for a while. The food was delicious, and the company was great. We left later than anticipated but got home on the same day that we woke! It was good to unwind with a cup of tea before finally getting to bed.

The waiter who took the picture for us took ages to click the photo. He said he knew how to operate a DSLR. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.