Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Celebrating The King With A Selfie

The Dutch are a very patriotic people. Every year on the King's birthday (27 April) the whole nation has a day off to celebrate. Red, white and blue flags are hung outside and people dress in orange. There are street markets across the country when people sell bric-a-brac for very cheap and street parties often take place. Its an excuse for people to meet together and have fun. Games are played and a lot of people get drunk. I'm sitting in the garden of our home, listening to the music being played at the town square a few streets away. The volume isn't nearly as loud as it was at our old place. There was carnival back in February and the music was loud enough to make the windows rattle (click here to see that post). I really enjoy the music being played. It's my sort of music. The type I normally listen to when I end up putting Spotify on.

As many of you know, I got new glasses yesterday and in my normal tradition, here is a photo of them on me. I love them and I'm thrilled to have glasses that aren't sliding down my nose every time I go to talk to my son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.