This is the day

By wrencottage

We're here

I don’t find it easy at the best of times to go on holiday; I’m a real home lover and I struggle to leave my comfort zone, on top of which there have been quite a few more added responsibilities this time. However, I knew that once we arrived at Langdale all my cares would melt away because it is such a home from home for us, and such a beautiful location.

Our travel arrangements went smoothly, and all three of our sons played their part in helping us; our youngest son drove our car up here for us, laden with all our belongings, and unpacked the car before we arrived. Our middle son drove us to the train station this morning, and our eldest son made us a delicious home-cooked pie for tonight’s evening meal. This was presented to us by our soon-to-be daughter-in-law, who had driven up on her own this morning in order to finalise all the wedding arrangements. She came to pick us up from Windermere station, so we were well and truly spoiled throughout the day. (Our eldest son and his daughter and our middle son and his family are coming up on Friday before Saturday's wedding.)

This evening Smithers and I went for a brief stroll around the estate to stretch our legs after all the travelling. Breathing in the air was like sipping champagne, and the birdsong all around us was sublime. My photo shows the popular local pub, The Britannia Inn, at Elterwater, which is just outside the timeshare back gate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.