The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Going deeper

Today I attended a Mindfulness silent day retreat. When I drew the curtains I was dismayed to see that it was raining, because my fantasy had involved wafting along the canal towpath to the venue, possibly wearing a white linen shift and a straw hat.....

Never mind. I put on my winter jacket and winter boots and walked towards the bus stop/towpat. A man was waiting at the bus stop. He said there'd be a bus ialong in  two minutes. I got off on town and walked the rest of the way, arriving about half an hour early. 

I'd forgotten that the venue, a Steiner therapy centre, has such a beautiful garden! There's a lake, with a rope swing over it; chickens wander free range around the back garden; there are fruit trees and masses of wild garlic and bluebells (the Spanish ones, I think). The river Frome along the bottom of the garden, and the Cotswold canal runs along the other side of the fence. 

None of my rain-dropped peony or apple blossom shots are in focus, so the steps to the river are my blip. They have chicken wire on them at prevent slipping, but the deck to the rope swing is another matter! I did have a go. 

A film maker was making a short film to promote Mindfulness training to other NHS commissioners outside Gloucestershire, so I stayed to participate, to help promote the cause. Then walked home via town, taking about an hour. 

I can't tell you about the day, except that it was mostly silent, and there were a variety of exercises, and it was a 'good trip'. It was hard to go out into the world again. 

Hours later: I'm at home with Clean Steve, watching a documentary about Syd Barrett. We've had a curry, and I'm wearing a blanket, and feeling a little too hot. Is it the curry, my prison-issue sweat suit, or is Spring on the way this evening? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.