carliewired

By carliewired

65 F/ 18 C

The Spallumcheen has
beautiful farmland with blooms
and asparagus!

~carliewired

In spite of our inclement weather, I was on my way to my favourite asparagus farm in the Spallumcheen valley at 9 AM. It's about an hour's drive from home. 

I had to stop on the Salmon River Road to enjoy the balsamroot and Saskatoon bushes in full bloom. They make a great show and look so good together along the edge of the road and between the trees. I scared up a poor little grouse when I stopped along the roadside. She was hunkered down under the trees and suddenly flew up and away. If she was nesting, I hope she returns. 

I got my seven pounds of lovely asparagus which I share with friends. As I left the farm I got a shot across the fields and a look at the gathering clouds.

I got back to Salmon River Road where I discovered another barn quilt block I hadn't seen before. This one was on the gable of their hay storage. 

By the time I got on Hwy 97 again the clouds opened up and gave me a car wash. I managed to catch a good crop of daffodils beside a farmer's fence just before it hit. I could see the storm coming at me from the west. 

I was home again just before 1 PM. I'm in for the rest of the day. Guess what I'm having for dinner tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.