Marsupium Photography

By magi

Platform 2

I embarked on a new railway infrastructure project to follow. The Siemensbahn going from Jungfernheide to Gartenfeld is going to be reactivated. It was built in 1929 and closed in 1980. Siemens is building a big research campus in Siemensstadt. This project encouraged the reactivation of the S Bahn line. The plan is to have it running again in 2030.

I took the train to Jungfernheide and walked along the line. It did involve a detour as it crosses the river Spree. A long section of the line runs on a great steal viaduct. All the stations are high up on the embankment. Some work has already begun. I did make my way up to the tracks a couple of times and managed to get to one of the abandoned railway stations. 

We are back on lovely weather and I very much enjoyed my exploration. Some more pictures on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.