An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Cheese and biscuits...

Hospital style :-)

So, after a very unsettled night, and still feeling awful, a very lovely nurse helped me to get showered and into clean pyjamas.  Felt a little bit better after that.  

Managed some rice crispies for breakfast but not the roll.  No appetite.

A Consultant came to see me just after 10am (a different one from my last hospital visit in February, but just as lovely) and confirmed it was another UTI.  I was a bit shocked as I've been feeling so well over the last 3 - 4 weeks and with the confirmation at the start of the week that my kidney stone has gone, I really thought I was over all of this.  And I had no symptoms this time.  One minute happily crocheting, the next the rigors!

He explained the plan was continue with the IV antibiotics over the course of today and tomorrow, with the possibility of me getting home tomorrow evening or Saturday.

The ward had myself and three elderly ladies who slept most of the time, so it was a bit quiet.  That said, I did a fair bit of snoozing myself.  

Alan's CT scan was scheduled just before midday.  It was funny to think of him downstairs with me upstairs!  D messaged to say Alan was on good form and despite the highest dose of diazepam that he's allowed, was remarkably alert!  He said he would update me when he came in for visiting at 2pm.

Just before 2pm D messaged to say they were just out from Alan's scan.  My heart sank at the length of time it had taken and I thought it had been very difficult but no, Alan was a star, didn't even jump getting the cannula in for the dye to be injected, but just as Alan was about to get scanned, their computer system went down and they couldn't access the referral letter telling them what scans to take!  The whole department ground to a halt.  
He was taken as soon as it was up and running again.

D stopped at the hospital cafe to grab a bite of lunch before coming up to the ward.  Alan headed home to get his lunch then he and Penny planned to go out for a drive in the nice weather.  My lunch of chicken soup was remarkably tasty and piping hot.  The roast beef sandwich also good but I only managed half.  And no frothy tea this time!

D got my bag properly unpacked and PJs etc into the locker.  Of course I should have realised that would mean that as soon as he left at 5pm a nurse would come in and tell me I was moving to another ward!  This didn't happen till later in the evening and I found myself going from a very quiet ward where there were only three of us after one of the old dears was transferred, to a full bay of five patients (me being the 6th) with the TV on.  

I settle down to watch Dragon's Den then Masterchef, then it was main lights off.  I was wide awake so started reading the book D brought me and finally felt my eyes closing just after 1am. 

Oh the crackers and cheese were left over from lunch and were very welcome with a cup of tea when my dinner of chicken pie, turned out to be a bit YUK! disappointing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.