HarryJ

By HarryJ

Bernardo Hall

I came across this building not far from home., less than 1 km. My curiosity was immediately piqued as to the origins of the name "Bernardo" in an area that is overwhelmingly First Nations. (It reminded me of the Irish man O'Higgins and his son Bernardo whose particpation in the creation of Chile caught my attention while there a few years ago.)
Anyhow, this buidling was an old church, later converted into a band office in Yakweakwioouse. (I have no clue how to pronounce that).
The Yakweakwioose First Nation or Yakweakwioose Band is a band government of the Sto:lo people located in the Upper Fraser Valley region at Sardis, near Chilliwack, British Columbia. (Thank you Google)
I will find out out more about the many First Nation groups as time goes by, it is so interesting.


After a very wet morning, we went looking for the $600 BBQ we had decided to get from Canadian Tire. Yes, a Tire/tyre shop that sells everything from tires/tyres to clothing. An hour later, we came home with a BBQ that cost almost 3 times as much. So much for rearch and decision making. It'll be a few weeks till I get to try it, once the patio cover has been built.


Ah well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.