Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Do you see what I see?

Regarding yesterday's blip, I replied to a blipper that I reckoned my original capture was capable of providing more abstract 'landscapes' from different crops.  That is what I set about finding out this evening.  In fact I took two different small crops from the top-left of that capture (in yesterday's 'extras') and overlayed them.  I was gob-smacked by what I saw: - a fjord with ice and icebergs with a snowy mountainous backdrop!  So serendipitous!

A few tweaks were still needed, but the whole vista was right there before me.  So what tweaks?.  The hillsides were too red so I subdued them to more of a brown.  The sky was too white so I imported a further image of another boat's paintwork showing patches of blue paint.  This layer was blurred in order to add colour without adding further detail or texture.  Another lucky result was that this new layer had a very dark band at the bottom which perfectly darkened the base of the icy landscape.  Job done.

Here it is then.  I have called it 'Ice in the Fjord'.

I think it is viewed best against the black background of the gallery view.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3231383023563835521/gallery
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.