LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The Valhalla returns to Harbour

I seem to have brought some better weather to Stromness. After overnight rain , the sun shone long enough for our morning swim with just a little drizzle to keep us centred as we dressed  before deciding that blue skies were the order of the day. It was windy but not the icy north wind of late and it felt quite a comfortable temperature.

My first port of call was the library to reserve my book group book which was too fat to bring in my luggage. I took advantage of a seat on the sofa in the window overlooking the harbour for some peaceful contemplation and under cover  people watching.

I made a special expedition to the Coop to get shampoo and came out with toothpaste, wondering which neurones had died. Back to get the shampoo and I bumped into a selkie who invited me for coffee in her kitchen with the most spectacular view over the harbour and marina. 

Homeward bound after some knitting natter, I met a second Selkie on her way to the hairdresser. It takes a second glance to recognise these ladies with their clothes on but I was getting into the way of it when I met a third Selkie this afternoon on my way home from picture taking. There is nothing to make you feel more at home in a place than meeting friends on the street. It doesn’t happen  in Edinburgh any more.

Now that I am finally holed up for the evening, I see raindrops on the window and the weather is closing in. Selfishly, I don’t mind if it rains all evening as long as it has stopped before the 8am swim tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.