Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Cubicle 2, A&E, Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

I have had a medical adventure. I spent most of the day here in cubicle 2 of the accident and emergency department at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh (my second hospital visit in two days).

The day started well after my first decent night of sleep in over a week. The co-codamol that I collected from the Western General Hospital last night was a great help with pain relief for my neck - hurrah!

However, after getting out of bed for breakfast at the kitchen table this morning, I started to feel rather woozy. I mentioned this to Mr hazelh, then the next thing I remember is waking up on the kitchen floor with my poor husband standing over me, screeching my name, and crushing my chest! As soon as Mr hazelh saw that I was conscious again, he dialled 999 and called an ambulance. He also contacted my book group pals to cancel the dinner that I was meant to be hosting tonight :-(

I lay on the kitchen floor with blankets piled over me for about an hour, then managed to pull myself up and return to the bedroom to lie down on my bed. 

Not long afterwards two fully-equipped paramedics (Tony and Kevin) arrived to administer various tests. They concluded that I had possibly accidentally overdosed on the co-codamol (for my body weight, even though I had followed the instructions to the letter). This was good news. I really didn't want to be carted off to hospital.

Unfortunately for me, when he contacted my GP practice, Tony was instructed to take me straight to A&E in the ambulance. The doctor wanted to rule out any damage to my heart, especially given that I am normally so active, fit, and healthy. 

I have never dressed so quickly. Meanwhile Mr hazelh packed my rucksack in anticipation of a long day at Little France. I left the house with my iPhone, a charger, a novel, my headphones, a sandwich, a banana, and a flask of tea. 

As predicted, I was out of the house for the rest of the day. When we first arrived at the hospital and were stuck in the queue of ambulances delivering patients, Kevin checked the estimated time that I would be waiting before reaching a physician. Answer: 9 hours! As things turned out, this figure was incorrect, and I had my main consultation at about 3:30pm. 

Over the following five and a half hours the (wonderful NHS) medical staff ran various checks. By the end of the day my blood pressure and temperature had been measured 9 times, blood was extracted from my arm for two rounds of tests, I was kitted out for 3 ECGs, and one X-ray was taken. I kept myself entertained by sending updates on my treatment to close friends and family, answering email, and reading Connective tissue by Eleanor Thom (it's a very good book). I also enjoyed a lovely visit from the friend of a friend's daughter, who works in the A&E department.

The outcome of all the investigations is that there isn’t anything much wrong with me other than I have low blood pressure whenever I stand up. This is the reason for my morning fainting fit. From now on, I need to be careful when I get up. I must not leap out of bed, but instead sit up first and take a glass of water. The blood tests also showed a slightly elevated reading for some indicator (this was the reason for taking blood from me twice), but this is of little concern.

So, apart from the on-going neck ache, I am fine. Poor Mr hazelh, however, has been rather traumatised from thinking that he was witnessing my final moments at the breakfast table this morning. 

Meanwhile, Mummy hazelh didn't notice my absence until late evening. When she asked about my whereabouts, Mr hazelh told her that I had a medical appointment. She obviously hasn't processed this information because when I reached home she asked if I had enjoyed my evening out. This is probably for the best. I wouldn't want to worry her.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.