Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Day 2

I'm at a stitching retreat for a week and thoroughly enjoying myself. 

Yesterday was an introduction to the techniques and design process for our pieces, plus a lovely morning doing a simple bit of Japanese bookbinding, making a notebook for course jottings and thoughts. I love my little notebook :-)

So today we started on the actual work, having been instructed beforehand as to what to expect and bring and cogitate about. My inspiration is a painting by Orcadian artist Jane Glue of a favourite place in Orkney. Most of the other ladies were using the Hebridean landscape as their inspiration and I couldn't help noticing the difference in our colour palettes!

So this beginning strip is a colour representation of the great piles of seaweed that make up the painting's foreground. Goodness knows what the finished result will be! 

A lovely walk along a beach this evening with Berry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.