GadgetGal

By GadgetGal

Spot the degraded 3D printer hot end

This morning we got up before dawn to dance the sun up with two other lovely Morris sides. No good pics I’m afraid.

So instead, my image for today is of the hot end from my 3D printer. The one on the left is severely degraded and I’ve been having print failure after print failure. The one on the right is the shiny new one. To install it I had to dismantle the print mechanism and, more importantly, put it back together correctly. Fortunately my 3D printer DIY was a success.

I wanted a good quality photo to show the difference so I used my Canon 77D with a 50mm fixed lens with a 20mm expansion tube to give me a macro effect. I’m very pleased with it. But do I need to invest in a dedicated macro lens I wonder ….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.