Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

THE COMMUNITY FRIDGE GETS BUSIER EVERY WEEK!

I heard from a friend who was at the Community Fridge on Monday that it was manic and today was the same - we never stopped - in fact, I arrived at 9.45 and didn’t sit down until gone 12.30.  When we checked the books at the end of the session, almost 160 people had come through the doors.

I did a “double take” when I spotted one of our customers at the serving hatch because she was wearing the same jumper as me!  We laughed about it and I asked if I could take a photograph; she was happy to oblige and gave her permission for me to use it in my Blip today.

Not only do we provide various different foods, but we also share our faith with the customers - after all, the Community Fridge is held in a Baptist Church so although several of them tell us they “aren’t religious”, we tell them that’s fine, because we aren’t either!  

Being a Christian and being religious are not the same thing at all and what we want to do is share God’s love with them, which we feel is very important, hence our Prayer Table, with various booklets that we often give to them.  

I know I say it often, but it is a privilege to be able to share our faith, not only by spoken word, but by our actions too so we hope they feel loved and accepted when they come through the doors each week. 

We also have plenty of books that they are welcome to take, read and bring back - and although there are a couple of Bibles, someone has obviously been clearing out their stash of various crime books.  

It’s been a mucky day today - after a heavy and very noisy thunderstorm just after 5 o’clock this morning, it has been very misty and grey and started raining as I drove home.  Mr. HCB has planted up our old wheelbarrow and spent the rest of his morning in the greenhouse, so we are both “cream crackered” now.  He’s watching cricket and I am about to snuggle underneath my electric throw and may even have a little nap - which of course, we can do because we are retired and besides which, we have earned it today!

We are having our next Covid jab tonight at 7.30 - not quite what we want for an evening out!  Just hope it doesn’t make us feel poorly like the last one did - but at least we have over a week to get over it before our holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.