Nettenet

By Nettenet

York… Day 2

We woke to the forecast rain.  

We caught the bus into town.  Had a leisurely light breakfast, trying to stay warm and dry. It was very cold.
We dropped our cases off at a luggage hold and had a bit of a wander until we could get into the Minster.
After our visit to the Minster we headed towards Betty’s where I bought some goodies to take home and then we were able to be seated upstairs a little earlier to wait for our friend to arrive and enjoy afternoon tea together. K taught at our old school and it was lovely to catch up with her.
When I booked our trip I chose the timings of the trains to maximise our short time there, not considering that it was a Sunday and not much would be open after 5 o clock.  After picking up our cases K kindly walked us back towards the station before we said our goodbyes.  F and I enjoyed the hospitality of a very nice hotel next to the station and got warm and enjoyed a glass of wine to round off our short visit before catching the train home.
The train journey to Kings Cross is so quick, arriving under 2 hours. After dropping F home, I got home just after 11.
Over 18,000 steps yesterday and 13,000 today, I think I wore poor F out…. and me too!
Extra of Bettys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.