DDon

By DDon

For Ruth

I learned this morning of the passing of my friend and colleague, Ruth Gaskin. Ruth was a science teacher for my 15 years teaching English at McMinnville High School, and we retired in the same year, 2013. Ruth was beloved by her students. She was rough, but had a heart for them larger than the Pacific. She had what I called her “bullshit meter,” where if some new BS came down from the powers that be, she was the first to say, “Oh, hell no.”

After she retired, she and her husband sold their home and most of their belongings, and traveled the world for 11 years. I honor that, and all she saw.

Ruth and I, of an age, shared our love of teaching, and of rock and roll. I am sure she saw many more big name concerts than I, and I am hoping she is rocking with Jimi and Janis now.

Ruth was one of a kind. I am so sad she is gone, but I am so happy I knew her, and that she is no longer in pain.

Rock on, friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.