Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Weather ..... or not

Well today was the day of the big storm.
It hadn't materialised by mid afternoon by which time I'd had a swim and won the darts competition for the second time this week (get me, hidden talents!). I have to say I rather like beating all the young men in their thirties and forties, lol. I'm not sure they're so chuffed though!
It was a little cooler and cloudy by 4ish so we decided to get the Dolmus down into Hisaronu. It saddened me to think that a few years ago we'd have happily walked it. My fitness levels need attention, but my cough is being bothersome. Getting out of breath is not only annoying but painful at the moment so, we took the Dolmus.
We wandered the length of Hisaronu and back, buying small gifts for the girls. We then stopped for a coffee having eventually found somewhere that wasn't showing football. I had some apple tea, which I love and was trying to decide what to nibble when the owner of the cafe said that she had just made scones would I like one of those. Perfect! It arrived beautifully presented, extra. She was very keen to find how I liked it as she hadn't made them before and was surprised to hear that they came from Scotland. It tasted good too.
By the time we got back up the hill to the hotel, the sky was looking very threatening. An hour and a half later, it still hadn't rained and the sky was as in the middle image, with a huge sense bank of white cloud. An hour and a half later, admittedly looking West rather than North east, the glorious sunset appeared. So it looks like we've missed out on the rain after all.
The threatened influx of guests still hasn't materialised but I imagine that will change tonight as many people are leaving. It's been lovely being in a smaller group, most of the staff know people by name and greet us accordingly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.