Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

A Very Wet Day

We went to sleep last night with the bedroom door wide open because it was so warm outside. Changes in the weather was predicted, but It was hard to imagine that the temperature would drop 20 degrees and it would be raining hard by morning. This is a picture through the wet screen of that same bedroom door this morning. And in extras is a picture of our porch with the furniture we forgot to cover....

I came across Spike's ball under the stove where he stores it. It seemed a good idea because we can throw/roll  it more safely and quietly in the house. By noon he had put a hole in it and it was a squished ball which is why all he ever has is a Kong.

I thought about all the things I could do on a rainy day...clean out my closet, make tortillas, get out the knitting again.I did none of those. I did go on a Peloton ride led by an ex Buddhist monk called Spring Renewal ride or something like that. While gradually turning up the resistance and adjusting the cadence he talked about breathing and  five Buddhist principles and ended with a short meditation. It seemed an odd thing to do on a Peloton, but it suited me well and I will probably do it again just because in  very un-Buddhist  fashion, my mind tended to wander! Besides, the guy was ripped and had a nice smile! 

Dana and Jim went to the Farmers' Market in the pouring rain and didn't even call us to see if we wanted to go. She brought back some lovely flowers and I told her she was nuts! She said the Singing Frog Farms people were very happy to see them!

We finished watching Mr Bates vs. the Post Office. I know most people in Britain saw it months ago but it just came out here recentlyI Never expected to like it as much as I did. Did people in Britain know about this as the whole thing was coming to light? The key to his tenacity seems to be his admission that he rarely got mad because it was a 'waste of time'. 

I'll try to remember that. Maybe I can head for the peloton and a 'meditation ride' next time I get mad....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.