Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Derelict Delight

Only three weeks ago, this pathetic, crumpled sight was the glorious bloom you can see in my Extra image. This Peony plant spends most of the year looking like a dead stick waiting for those all-too-brief days of dazzling beauty.

I sorted through some more of the minutiae of Mum’s life today. I cried and felt utterly bereft as things came to light that were painful reminders, but at least all the cupboards and drawers in that room now only contain items to keep. Tomorrow I will transfer my collection of vintage and antique books and artifacts into boxes that will be easier to move around while the bungalow is being decorated and carpeted. I’m looking for a very tall solid wood bookcase to put all the books in after the renovations, but everything I’ve seen online is too flimsy to take their combined weight. I’m also looking for a new dining table and chairs which probably don’t exist except in my imagination!

Next I plan to empty out the unwanted desk, sideboard and hostess trolley in the lounge ready to find a new home for it all, plus a dining table, a couple of small units and some occasional tables. Possibilities include charities which take furniture, or offering it for free on the local Facebook page for someone who might want it for upcycling. It’s all very dark wood unfortunately - good quality but out of fashion. It seems such a shame to take it to the tip when it’s still perfectly serviceable. Where are the ‘Money for Nothing’ team when you need them?

This is my second entry for the DerelictWeek challenge this week - thank you to Marlieske for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.