carliewired

By carliewired

71 F/ 22 C

It's a day with cloud
and flat light, but the horses
showed up - excellent! 

~carliewired

There was no sunshine to wake me up this morning so I had a bit of a sleep in until almost 7. Once I realized the hour, I was out the door in quick time. 

I was on my way up the hill to Paul Lake. Coming along Schedam Flats I watched carefully for horses. I found them along the bench and working their way to the creek at the bottom of the hill. 

I drove up to the end of the lake where the small community of Paul Lake resides. It was a very quiet Sunday morning there. I got a shot looking east to catch the reflection in the water. High above, on a dead tree, a Canada goose was perched like a sentinel. I was surprised to find it looking out over the lake. It remained there a long time while I walked along the pathway below. 

The hillsides are covered in yellow balsamroot just beginning to bloom at this elevation. So much of it is tucked under the pines and in the shadows that it will last quite a while. 

As I drove back down I found a small band of horses along the fence beside the road. One foal and his mother looked so sweet together. Most of this band were paints or pintos. They are my favourite. 

I'm in today. I have someone coming to do some maintenance on the outside of my living room windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.