Elwetritsches Welt

By Elwetritsche

She went up!

The Kranichwoog observation tower is finally open and today I went up. I waited until it started to rain in the afternoon (watching the rain radar helped a lot to find the perfect time) to avoid the masses and it worked just fine! 
The rain didn't last long, but still I had the tower all to myself for my first climb up of the 120 steps. 
First impressions in the extras. The top platform is 19,5 m above ground and it was strange - I did not have the slightest problem with the height. Only those look-through-stairs and floors will need some getting used to. I was clinging to the handrails up and down the stairs.

The "grand" opening was Friday without the locals. I happened to drive by twice and saw all the people and shuttle service and so on and I'm afraid I have to say that it got me mad to see that - not a word in the newspaper or elsewhere about the opening on Friday. Only for the officials.....after all those months the locals were patient and more patient because it wouldn't go forward and all the detours because of the blocked paths..... This Sunday morning there was an "official" invitation for a boundary walk, but I didn't go. First impressions for me all by myself and it was a good decision.

20:15; 16°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.