Teasel

By Teasel

Mr Goose

I started my day with a walk.  It was another lovely morning, though the day became rather grey.  I walked down to the river, where it was all quiet with the goose on her nest and the swan on hers.  I came home via the pop up bakery, where I bought some goodies.  It was then home to hang out the washing and to then head out for a run.  I went on another route I haven’t been on this year, due to the excessive muddiness.  It was fairly dry today and it was a lovely run.  There was still a bit of a chill in the air and I was grateful of my base layer when I was running into the wind.
 
Lunch was focused around my fresh baguette.  I made BB and chicken and salad sandwich, while I had some soup and bread, slathered with butter.  Lovely!  I then got down to a few chores which have been outstanding for a while.  Later in the afternoon I spotted a post on the local Facebook page that said there were nine goslings, as well as another post that said that het male swan was being aggressive to the geese.  I needed a couple of things for tea, so took a walk down to the supermarket, detouring around by the river to try and spot the goslings.  I did spot them – though not nine of them.  I also witnessed the male swan being very aggressive to both the male and female geese, with the goslings caught up in the stramash.  The male goose escaped onto the river bank, while the female remained on the island near the nest with her brood.  The male swan swam back and forward between the bank and the island. I reckoned that there was no way the male goose could get back without a fight, unless the male swan disappeared up or down river.  I continued on my way, picked up my provisions and headed home to make tea.
 
I have been rather underwhelmed at the lack of BB’s application to studying today, but he did at last press the accept button for his place at University.  I have no idea why it has taken him so long. 
 
Tea went down well.  TT then settled down to watch The Man With the Golden Gun – yes he is still working his way through the James Bond collection.  I started to watch it, but dozed off.
 
This is a very sad (and probably stressed, given he had just been chased by an angry swan) goose, banished to the riverbank, but looking over to the island where is his mate and brood were.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.