Capital adventures

By marchmont

The new and the old

Decided that what would be best to do was to take the car to Dyce and get the train into Aberdeen and that way I could go in past Newmachar on the way home.  It was drizzling.  Not a nice day so I decided to wait inside the Bon Accord Centre.

S arrived about 11.15 and we turned out to be quite similar, both short, brown eyes and wearing denim jackets and scarves.  Headed to Costa for coffee and a talk about the family links over my laptop. She is my 3rd cousin, twice removed. We got on really well.

Got the 2 p.m. train back to Dyce and with a detour to Asda Dyce for flowers and a sandwich went out to Newmachar. Isabel would have been 94 on Monday. Doesn't look like anyone else visits the grave.

Then back to Inverurie via Oldmeldrum to go to Homebase.  I bought test pits for the shed and seeds. My first of the year.  A was thinking of sending out a search party by the time I got back.

A quick shower and change and then we were off to Edwards for food (which took ages to come but was worth waiting for).  G had been at the match so didn't eat but was the advance guard for the toon hall ('a' as in after).  By the time we got there the first bad was in full swing - 'Off the Cuff'.  Then there were pies!  I had a steak one, to soak up the Pinot Grigio.  

Next were Four Way Street who were very good.  Being a nostalgic gig the audience were all around our age.  I recognised 3 women but no idea who they are - well it is 24 years since I stopped working at the Centre and 17 years since I left Inverurie.  

Then someone who knew us came up - a short, bald 60 year old who turned out to be Chisel, a stalwart of the Senior Youth Club who was famous for falling through the glass window and down a flight of stairs, completely uninjured due to being totally drunk.  We all thought he was a lost cause but there he was an upstanding citizen and putting it all down to us, the youth workers.  A, Y and I were quite overwhelmed but it was good to know he did ok and gratifying that he puts it down to the support he got from the youth workers.  Youth Work works.

There was also a lot of dancing and singing along once Jolson, the headliners, celebrating 50 years, played - the iconic 'Smoke on the Water' and we ended with all the bands playing 'Rocking All Over the World'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.