Queen's Cascades at Wentworth Falls.

All right then. One last waterfall for now. Gemax has correctlly informed me that this is called the "Queen's Cascades". I wasn't sure of the name before then. Thanks mate. The Jamison Creek falls into a pleasant lagoon just above the so named "Wentworth Falls" proper, which itself plummets into the Jamison Valley in two stages. It is surprisingly difficult to capture the main falls unless you are especially fit and can brave the descent to the valley floor (and the climb out) and so these cascades will have to suffice for today.

Interestingly, I find that long exposures in the present sunshine are quite difficult. The ND filter cuts the overall exposure quite well but the results get very contrasty and highlights are desperate to blow wide open. I wrestled with this image rather more than I'd have liked - to get to this stage. Oh well it's all experience I guess.

I know the ISO is at 1600. You might ask why on earth I went for that. ... Because I am a clutz - that's why. I had been shooting something else and forgot to reset the ISO. I was struggling to get a longer exposure time and couldn't figure out why at first. Oddly enough this was better than the exposures I shot afterwards at ISO 200. Maybe there's an accidental lesson there ... somewhere. I swear I shouldn't be allowed out without supervision sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.