MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Nearer The Sky

Glad that I live am I;
That the sky is blue;
Glad for the country lanes
And the fall of dew.
After the sun the rain,
After the rain the sun;
This is the way of life,
Till the work be done.
All that we need to do,
Be we low or high,
Is to see that we grow,
Nearer the sky.


I was singing this to Mishka while I was grooming her yesterday. Sure enough a day of rain has followed yesterday's sunshine. I shot the Cargolux Boeing 747-400, on its way to Stansted from Baku, Azerbaijan in the rain this morning. The rain didn't stop so I decided to take Mish to North Weald for a change of scenery. Nothing doing there other than a massive smelly market that caused traffic jams. As we left I saw this Folland Gnat. I approve of the colour. :) The Red Arrows used to fly these. This one was owned at one time by my former next-door-neighbour David Gilmour.

This afternoon I heard the Bell UH-1 Iroquois coming. They are very loud as the rotor blades operate close to the speed of sound. They were used extensively in Vietnam. Apocalypse Now Ride of the Valkyries' scene 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.