Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Pittosporum

I realised today that so far this year I haven't blipped the flowers on my Pittosporum tree.  She is well over 30 years old and getting on for 30 feet high. 

Being dioecious, she needs to be pollinated from a male tree but in all those years, that has only happened three times so I presume the nearest male must be quite some distance away.

The first time, I only found three seed capsules, the second time about 10 and last year there were around two dozen.  With this cold damp spring, I have seen fewer pollinating insects so the chances of more this year are probably reduced.

The treatment I have applied makes the flowers look brighter and redder than they naturally are.  Normal colour is a dark purple.

The tree is a common variegated cultivar, Pittosporum tenuifolium, 'Silver Queen'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.