Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Forget-Me-Nots

A small and fairly swift Music Meeting this morning with just our Rector, organist and me to choose the hymns for the June services. I think my point about not having any modern recorded hymns in the traditional Parish Communion services has been taken on board. We will have all modern stuff for some of our services but won’t spoil the flow of the more traditional communions by attempting to mix and match incompatible styles of music. We had a few rather startling disasters earlier this year, such as an ear-splitting and distorted guitar solo blaring out straight after some very sensitive intercessions. Everybody left the service in a state of shock after that one, including the priest!

This afternoon the windows at the bungalow were measured up ready to order the new replacement ones. I can’t wait for the work to be done, as the wooden ones are in a terrible state with paint flaking off. After that I went out on a few errands, and dropped off three big bags full of donated items to one of the charity shops. The bin men took away three big bags of rubbish this morning, so that’s six bags’ worth of stuff removed from the bungalow. It’s been a difficult few days, and there’s more to come, but I’m slowly making progress.

I got my blip of the tiny blue forget-me-nots while walking back from the Rectory this morning. They always remind me of when I was a child and Dad let me plant up a small bit of flower bed - I chose alyssum and forget-me-nots bought from Woolworths to put in at the front. These ones are growing in the wild-looking front garden of a “doer-upper” house at the other end of my road, which has recently been sold. I haven’t actually seen much “doing-upping” there yet, though - it may well feature as a blip for DerelictWeek before too long!

Many thanks to Incredibish for hosting Tiny Tuesday for May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.