jennym999

By jennym999

Childhood books

A lovely sunny day so after a swim nice to open lots of windows and do some cleaning/ tidying!

Also gave Libby a thorough bath in the garden and a good brush as she will be going to stay with a friend tomorrow.

Also some admin and I finished  another bit for my ‘Life Story’ about the books I read when I was young. These are some which were in my parents house until I cleared it out and are now residing with us, the grandchildren are not impressed! Some of the stories seem very bland and babyish compared to what is in books published for children now. I found an old diary which listed some of the books I read when I was nine…Little Women, Black Beauty, What Katy Did etc. A different era!

My first books had lots of nursery rhymes and simple stories so they were read to me. One of my favourites was the book  ‘Somebody’s Darling’ which had a story in it about Pussy Pickpaws which I really liked and always remembered. It was about a naughty kitten who was always stealing food like blancmange from the kitchen so her mother put a pink balloon in a dish and when she tried to eat it with her paw it popped and scared her! Another story I liked was about fairies hiding their shoes at night under the petals of white dead nettle flowers ( I often show these shoe shaped stamens to people when we see them on a walk…..they are surprised!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.