Pictorial blethers

By blethers

How can I keep from singing ...

I'm still as high as ... a soprano? No, maybe stick to common analogies, but we've just given our concert in Holy Trinity - in aid of the Loo fund, as we told the audience, aimed at giving future audiences a more comfortable experience - and we raised a hearty sum from a good and most receptive audience. I have to confess we've never been cheered by a standing audience at the end of a gig - it was all very exhilarating. I feel particularly relieved as well, as my partner on the line has gone to live in the outer isles and her replacement is off sick with a dire cough, so I was holding my own for big chunks of music - and survived. I hope the church photographer doesn't mind that I've pinched one of his photos from the back of the church to give a better impression of the event - and to be more flattering to the singing faces than photos taken from closer to the front!

I've spent most of the day indoors until evening - just a brief foray in the cool, grey morning to drop off a prescription request - because I didn't want my hay fever-affliced eyes to play up and stop me seeing the music. Just as well - I noticed when we went out in the sunny evening that the car, the garden bench, the glass topped table - all were covered in a fine yellow powder. Facebook posts were commenting that the sea was yellow at the edges - there were photos of yellow seaweed and yellow foam. What was it? Apparently it's the pollen from the Sitka Spruces, all bursting out in this dry, windless day and landing all over the area. I've never seen the like before. I've stuck a very poor photo of some on the edge of the bench in extras.

I made the most of my enforced indoors-ness by writing a sermon for Sunday - I think I've got most of it down, though I'll probably want to revise bits near the start, link things up a bit before the weekend. 

Now I'm off to drink about a gallon of tea and eat chocolate cake left over from the purvey. I don't think sleep matters too much tonight ...

Title is also the title of one of the songs we sang. From Plainsong to Pop was our concert title - though I thought it would be fun to stick in an extra "o" in view of the purpose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.