Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Going to be a warm week.

After an appointment in San Carlos, it was around noon, I was shocked to come face to face with a doe at the corner of El Camino Real.  When I walking down the block I could see the doe running down the intersecting street, we met at the corner, both as surprised as each other.  She and I stood so, so still.  I immediately feared what might happen to her next.  I wanted her to turn around and go back in the direction she'd come from, but no, she bounded across El Camino Real, over the landscaped median and toward the Caltrain tracks.  Amazingly all of this happened when there was zero traffic on this busy strip of road.  I couldn't believe it.  It was like time stood still, a dream. 

There are a lot of deer around and T, when I called him to tell him what had happened, said please be careful in case there's a buck.  There was nothing.  Cordilleras Creek runs right along where the deer and I had met, my guess is she had been drinking and feeding along the creek and somehow took a wrong turn/got spooked.  The creek runs underneath El Camino but on the other side where it daylights again by the tracks is not hospitable.  I hope she makes it.

There'd been a mountain lion in Millbrae the other week.  'Tis the season.  I feel bad about our human encroachment on their land. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.