Bom

By Bom

Blooms at the Bump

After my Sainsbury's delivery first thing, I dropped off another couple of bags of things at the charity shop and then drove over to Sheringham. I dropped off four old pairs of glasses at Specsavers for charity, then set off to walk to Beeston Bump, a walk I haven't done for ages. I'd dug out my leki walking poles having heard a 'Just One Thing' episode by Dr Michael Mosley about the benefits of Nordic Walking. I got on ok with them, although they did have a mind of their own at times! These are a couple of flowers I saw as I walked along the cliff path - I think the pink one is a type of Thrift and the orange comes up on PlantNet as Calendula. Beeston Bump is on the cliff path and is 63m above sea level, it is what was left as the glaciers retreated northwards at the end of the last ice age 10,000 to 15,000 years ago. At that time the North Sea was largely dry land and the River Thames and River Rhine formed one large estuary. I've known for a long time about Doggerland, but had never thought before moving here that the Ancestral River Thames joined the sea in Norfolk, so perhaps it should be called Happisburgh on Thames!

This afternoon I had another quote for the landscaping - a young chap who said a few things that were contradictory to what I was told yesterday, some things each said rang true, but I have some doubts on both proposals. The first quote is just under £4k. The guy this afternoon was a builder and I've asked him to do a separate quote for mending the garden wall as well. I also changed the cc I use for online purchases and subscriptions, more admin. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.