Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Bogbean

Menyanthes trifoliata

Today I went in search of one of my favourite wildflowers - bogbean!  Why is it one of my favourites?  Just because it's so odd, with its fringe of long white hairs on each petal.  And also because - confession time - I'd never seen it until last year.  It grows in still water with it's trefoil leaves held well above the surface.  The flowers themselves seem to last no time and once again I was afraid I might have missed them, but I found this beautiful spike and one rather ratty one, so that pleased me.

In a minute I'm going to post the results of #WFW24_05 below, but because I don't want to lose all the words if anything goes wrong, I shall add them after I've posted this.

Hope you've all had as beautiful a day as we have.  Enjoy a great evening  xx

WFW24_05 RESULTS:

HEARTS this week go to:
vmonkkon - for all his three entries
RHelena - for a lovely woodland scene of anemones
Fitzbilly - for a beautiful cuckoo flower shot
Maureen6002 - for her wonderful ribwort plantain
Hyperion - for our first fern entry, Maidenhair Spleenwort

Honourable Mentions go to:
Treshnish
Springlilly
Fuentes3
HelenAnn
MollyG

and a joint HM to both the blippers who gave us Ivyleaved Toadflax (well, how could I separate two such good shots?)
Tigger101 and Tweedy

And my thanks to you all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.